最近访问板块 发新帖
查看: 946 | 回复: 0
打印 上一主题 下一主题

Install Fedora Core 4 in Thinkpad T42 [复制链接]

论坛徽章:
跳转到指定楼层
1 [收藏(0)] [报告]
发表于 2006-05-03 13:03 |只看该作者 |倒序浏览

I know that I can't escape this....eventually this would hunt me down and catch me with horrendous destruction.......
Oookei, I just want to install Linux in my Thinkpad, but, on the other hand, I just don't want lose my music with iTune. So I decide that I am gonna set up a dual boot computer(meybe triple boot) and install Fedora Core 4 and Windows XP Pro with SP2. You might ask that why Fedora Core? Well I have been using it since a couple of years ago,
so....And again, you might ask why not "Vmware"....yeah, I guess I am the kind of  people that like purity...so Fedora Core on Vmware on Windows Xp likes a fake, unpure thing to me...you know what I mean.
Well, let me cut the crap and start what I am suppose to start: install Fedora Core 4 in IBM Thinkpad T42. The
Keunwoo Lee's Guide installing FC 3 in T42
  is a great source for installing FC 4 in T42. My installation precedures consists of Partitioning and installing.
1. Partioning
Windows XP pro is already pre-installed when I recieved my Thinkpad T42. I need to create a partition for installing FC4. According to
Keunwoo Lee
, Partition Magic partition in NTFS file system fails to create recognisable partition for FC3(FC3 shorts for Fedora Core 3). Hence, I took his advise and burned a
GPart
ed live CD for partitioing my hard disk.
Partitioning went quite smooth with Gparted and I would say "kudo! For those guys created the software". I booted my pc with GParted-LiveCD and with a little configuration of the Xorg, vualla! the GParted GUI showed up. GParted GUI is quite user-friendly and it didn't take too long to figure out how to create an ext2 partition. I didn't touch the hidden partition came with IBM and squized up 20G space for Linux installation.
2. Installing